The Art of Reiki...



Blog - The Art of Reiki

The Reiki Precepts

I was asked a question online about the precepts, the numerous versions etc. My response follows, a longish text, and with no pics.

The first clarification with regard to the precepts that each of us might favour or have been taught, is that they are what they are, although distortions of meaning from the original are problematic with some. For me personally, there is the version that I received with my form of practice. At the same time, there are various translations from Mikao Usui’s memorial stone and later adaptations of them. Where I return again and again, is to the memorial stone and its direct translations.

Translation is an art form. The task of the translator is to change the original language form into another language form while retaining the meaning held in the original. Which means in the case of the precepts translated to English, various translators may use different English words and phrases from their own understandings. So it’s not so much the words used but the retention of the meaning that is key.

Many of the translations from the memorial stone are similar, although usually not made by professional translators. The translation that holds the most meaning for me comes from a professional translator and that version follows. Included are sentences either side of the precepts which are important to my mind in discerning the purpose behind them.

Translation begins:

The Reiki method is not only for curing illness. Its true purpose is to correct the heart-mind, keep the body fit and lead a happy life using the spiritual capabilities humans are endowed with since birth. Accordingly, when teaching people, first, respecting the dying injunction of the Emperor Meiji, recite the following precepts morning and evening, and keep them in one’s heart.

The five precepts are:

1- today, throughout the entire day, do not become angry;

2- worry about nothing;

3- express one’s gratitude;

4- be diligent in work;

5- be kind to others.

These are the most important teachings in cultivating the mind, and are inextricably linked with the path that the saints and sages of old kept uppermost in mind. The Sensei referred to this as “the secret method that summons happiness, the miraculous medicine that is effective against all kinds of illness.” Of this, there is no doubt because he knew their true meaning… If you quietly in seated meditation, join your hands together in worship and recite the five precepts, you develop a pure and sound heart, and return to acting fairly and honestly. It is so simple and easy that anyone can put the Reiki method into practice.


I read particular significance into the terminology ‘Heart-Mind’ (not heart and/or mind) in the preceding paragraph, and ‘because he knew their TRUE meaning’ in the following one. The ‘secret method’ is in plain sight but not easily seen.

The version of the precepts I received and teach as my form of practice includes an addition by Hawayo Takata, ‘Honour your parents teachers and elders’. This I interpret as her perception that the concept of honour as held in Japanese culture was not present in western culture. My daily experience is that she was absolutely correct.

Which leads me to the understanding (right or otherwise) that Mikao Usui had an awakening experience and as with all such persons he sought to bring that experience to others. The precepts were referred to as ‘the secret method etc’. The core experience of awakening is in the nowness of everything awareness, being in the now, being present. ‘He knew their true meaning’ carries that significance.

So the version of the precepts as received in my form of practice is held alongside the direct translation from the memorial stone, in the understanding that each precept stands on its own, as a specific pathway for being in the now moment.

As to ‘what do the precepts as you follow them read as?’ My short answer is ‘Be here now’.

Love IS

There are emotions and feelings called ‘love’. Real enough, but based in neuro-chemical brain states rooted in survival and reproductive programming.

The Love we truly crave, the Love that endures, that fulfils, is the Love that is the experience of beingness in the now moment, that is allowance, that is acceptance, that is forgiveness.

You are the One you have been waiting for.

A Path

A blog post I read recently began “In its original form, within Japanese Buddhist circles in the late 19th Century, Reiki was a path to enlightenment”. (End of quote). The remainder of the post focused on the healing practice.

Not only “was a path to enlightenment”, but still is, in the western form and practice. More than that, one does not need to become more “Japanese” or to adopt Buddhism or its philosopy.

There is absolutely no harm, and a certain satisfaction, in immersing oneself in the Japanese language and culture, or developing an understanding of Buddhist thought and meditative practices. But “the way” is not these things.

The risk is as it has always been, of too much mind, Japanese mind, Buddhist mind, right mind, and more.

The “way” of Reiki can be found in the everyday hands-on practice, and the here and the now.

Note “everyday” and “here and now”.

Fix Me

“Can you fix me in 20 minutes?” was the question asked by a passerby who had stopped outside my shop.

She was serious.

I gave her my standard “I dont fix people. What happens depends on you. We can only see what happens”.

I share the story only to offer the comparison with the question asked by someone else, which was "Would you be willing to work with me. I would like to have a Reiki treatment from you.”

Theres a world of difference between the two.

Unease, anxiety, tension, stress, worry — all forms of fear — are caused by too much future, and not enough presence.

Guilt, regret, resentment, grievances, sadness, bitterness, and all forms of nonforgiveness are caused by too much past, and not enough presence.

- Eckhart Tolle
For love is a force. Love is here because you are here. It arrives unbidden whenever you do. It takes a being of unimaginable power to embody divinity. It takes you.
- Sophia Love

Older Posts

Custom Post Images